Who were the winners at the SNP’s annual awards?

Winners were celebrated during the party’s St Andrew’s Day dinner, which took place at the Glasgow Marriott hotel last night.

Westminster MP Stewart McDonald was voted as Parliamentarian of the Year, just days after being named as the ‘Best Scot at Westminster’ at The Herald’s Scottish Politician of the Year awards.

Earlier this year he was also named ‘Best Scot at Westminster’ at the Holyrood Magazine Political Awards.

McDonald has been praised for his work as the SNP’s spokesperson for defence at Westminster and has been vocal in his support for Ukraine in the wake of the Russian invasion.

His work on combatting disinformation in public life has also been applauded.

After receiving his award McDonald tweeted: “It was great to see members from across the country – especially so in such an important week.

“It was also a huge surprise to be presented with the party’s Parliamentarian of the Year award by @NicolaSturgeon” 

Midlothian council leader Kelly Parry was named Councillor of the Year, with members applauding Parry’s work on her local authority’s response to the crisis in Ukraine.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to independence campaigners Pam and Doug Muir and Staffer of the Year to Jim Henderson, who has worked as a national fundraiser for the party for more than 30 years.

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon presented all the winners with their awards and also praised the Scottish singer Iona Fyfe on Twitter, who performed during the event.

File source

Show More
Back to top button